Content Exchange

The Southeastern Conference announced today it will go with a league-only football schedule and the start of the season has been pushed to Sept. 26.

According to a news release published by the league this afternoon, SEC teams will play 10 conference games. The SEC Championship Game will be played Dec. 19 at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta. It originally was scheduled for Dec. 5.

Sports Editor Mark Edwards: 256-235-3570. On Twitter: @MarkSportsStar.

This article originally ran on

Locations Content Exchange